3 Future Accountants From West Orange High School Earn Scholarships

WEST ORANGE, NJ — Three future accountants from West Orange High School were among six recently selected for a Deloitte Minority High School Scholarship.

Last month, the New Jersey Society of CPAs (NJCPA) Scholarship Fund awarded nearly $230,000 in scholarships to more than 55 New Jersey high school and college students during an event at the Pines Manor in Edison. The annual ceremony was the first held in-person since the COVID-19 pandemic began.

According to the NJCPA:

25 accounting students at New Jersey colleges or universities who are currently in their junior year or in their senior year and entering an accounting-related graduate program were awarded $6,500 each, while students in their sophomore eight year were awarded $2,000 each, and two received $5,500 American Institute of CPAs (AICPA)/NJCPA Minority Scholarships. Additional National Association of Black Accountants (NABA) – Northern New Jersey Chapter/NJCPA awards were also distributed … The 22 high school award winners who received $1,500 each are college-bound New Jersey high school seniors intending to major in accounting or obtain a concentration in accounting.”

The NJCPA noted that six of those winners received the Deloitte Minority High School Scholarship. Funded by Deloitte Foundation, the new scholarship was created to open the doors to the accounting profession for New Jersey high school seniors who are racially or ethnically diverse and consider accounting as their college major.

The Deloitte Scholarship winners came from three New Jersey high schools that were part of the pilot program: West Orange High School – which had three of the winners – Rahway High School and New Brunswick High School.

Other high school recipients were from the following schools: Delran High School, Edison High School, Fort Lee High School, Howell High School, Kittatinny Regional High School, Manalapan High School, Montville Township High School, Old Bridge High School, Parsippany Hills High School , Point Pleasant Borough High School, Red Bank Regional High School, Upper Freehold Regional School District-Allentown High School, Wayne Hills High School and Wayne Valley High School.

“It’s always a thrill to be able to assist such young, talented individuals,” said Ralph Albert Thomas, executive director of the NJCPA.

“This would not have been possible if it wasn’t for the generosity of our members and firm/company benefactors,” Thomas added.

Send local news tips and correction requests to eric.kiefer@patch.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.